Annual Surcharges for Houston DWIs
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has established something called
the Driver Responsibility Program. One of the requirements of this program
is that anyone arrested for
DWI (after September 2003) will have a surcharge added to their record. These
are not the same thing as fees imposed by things like license revocation.
A DWI is not the only way to get surcharges, but rather they can be added
after a regular moving violation such as speeding. According to DPS, surcharges
can be asses in two distinct ways.
With the point system,
Points are assessed for traffic convictions. Once the conviction has been
added to the driver record, points are assigned and remain on the driver
record for three years from the date of conviction.
If you are arrested for a DWI, but your charges are reduced to something
like reckless driving, the point system may apply to you.
With conviction-based surcharges,
Individuals will pay an annual surcharge for three years from the date
of conviction. Points are not assessed for these offenses because the
surcharge is automatic upon conviction.
For conviction-based surcharges, fines will differ depending on the type
of conviction/offense. That table, provided by the Texas DPS, lists those
fines as follows:
1st DWI is a $1,000 surcharge
- Subsequent DWI is a $1,500 surcharge
- DWI with BAC of .16 percent or more is a $2,000 surcharge
It is required to pay a surcharge within 30 days of the offense. Failure
to do so can result in an automatic driver license suspension. Payments
can be made online or by mailing the Surcharge Processing center. DPS
will review the amount of surcharges you have to pay every year for three years.
Can my surcharges be reduced?
The DPS does allow for some individuals to get their surcharges reduced
through something called the Indigency Program. To qualify, you must be
living at or below 125 percent of the federal poverty level. To learn
more about the federal poverty level and qualifying factors, visit the
Texas Indigency Program informational page or contact the firm directly. A Houston DWI lawyer
from the firm may be able to assist you in applying for indigency by submitted
all the necessary documentation such as a 1040 form and recent bank statements.
For those who can't afford this particular penalty of a DWI conviction,
there is hope to lower payments through this special program.
Your Houston DWI Lawyer - Free Consultation
Remember that surcharges are automatic as soon as you are convicted of
a driving while intoxicated. To avoid these and other penalties, do not
contact Houston DWI lawyer Herman Martinez. The firm has more than 15 years of experience in the
field, and Mr. Martinez has even been recognized as a Top Houston DWI
Attorney by H-Texas Magazine. You can trust this firm's experience
and skill to get your charges reduced or dismissed. While this firm cannot
guarantee results, it can guarantee that it will fight aggressively for
its clients' rights.
To learn more about DWI, your penalties and how we can help, call now and