Since the 1950's, it has been illegal to own or use a switchblade knife in the state of Texas. Carrying or using one of these knives has always been considered a Class A misdemeanor and individuals could be punished with a fine of up to $4,000 and confiscation of the weapon. They could also be given one year in a county jail.
According to the new laws passed in Texas this past September, the knives are no longer illegal and individuals cannot be penalized for using them. Individuals also can't be penalized for making a switchblade, repairing a switchblade, selling a switchblade, or repairing a switchblade. Previously all of these actions were illegal. This law is covered in HB 1862.
Other knives and weapons are still banned in Texas, and use of them can result in serious penalties. Individuals are required to carry a permit in order to have a concealed handgun. It is also illegal to own explosives such as bombs, bombs and rockets or to possess a machine gun.
People can also be penalized for carrying a zip gun, brass knuckles, shotguns with barrels that are less than 18 inches long, rifles or shotguns that are altered so that the weapon is less than 26 inches long, and more. With the exception of brass knuckles, possession of these weapons is considered a third-degree felony which means that you may get between two and ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you have been arrested for possession of a weapon, then you need to talk to a Houston criminal defense attorney today to learn more. With the right attorney on your side, you may be able to prove that you are not guilty of a weapons crime or cite the recent laws regarding switchblade knives as defense in your case. Hire the firm today to learn more!