The 15-Day Rule
DWI Charges and License Suspension in Houston, Texas
If you have been charged with
DWI/DUI in Texas, you are subject to the "
15 day rule." This means that, per state law, you have 15 days after your arrest
to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. If you
fail to request the hearing within the 15 days,
your license is automatically suspended. The
ALR hearing is extremely technical, and it is essential that if you need an ALR hearing
that you immediately contact a DWI defense lawyer for knowledgeable legal
counsel. The Martinez Law Firm has over 15 years of experience helping
clients request and prepare for ALR hearings to protect their driving
Pulled over for DWI? The 15-day rule may apply if:
- You took a breath, blood or urine test with a result of .08% or greater.
- You refused the tests.
under 21 at the time and were found to have a BAC of .02% or higher.
- You offered to take the test and the police officer is claiming that you refused.
- You were driving with a commercial license and allegedly had a BAC of .04%
Actions to Take Following a Houston DWI Arrest
Just because you were arrested for DWI does not mean you will be convicted.
It also does not necessarily mean you will lose your license. Our firm
has many years of experience in successfully defending DWI cases in the
Houston area. We thoroughly understand
DWI defense and the ALR hearing process. Attorney Martinez has been awarded "Top
DWI Lawyer" by H Texas Magazine for 2011 and the 2012 Clients'
Choice DUI Lawyer on Avvo. The firm has an A+ rating with the Better Business
Bureau and we approach every case with an ethical, aggressive, and dedicated
perspective for creating effective defenses strategies.
Call for your
free initial consultation with our Houston DWI firm.