It is important to understand that the circumstances directly surrounding your
DWI arrest could greatly affect your charges. In the state of Texas, first and second
time DWI convictions are only considered to be misdemeanors. You will
automatically be charged with a
felony DWI if it is your third conviction.
What Could Cause a Misdemeanor DWI to Become a Felony DWI?
There are certain aggravating factors that can transform a misdemeanor
into a felony DWI, including:
You were arrested for a DWI while driving a
child under 15 years of age.
- Penalties for this offense include anywhere from 180 days to 2 years in
state jail and fines up to $10,000.00.
You were arrested for a DWI after getting in an auto accident that resulted
in serious injuries.
intoxication assault in Texas include incarceration for 2 to 10 years, as well as up to $10,000.00
in fines. It is also mandated by Texas law that the judge in these cases
must order at least 160 hours but no more than 600 hours of community service.
What If I Was Charged With a Felony DWI in Another State?
If you are
arrested in another state for a felony DWI, Texas will still be informed about your conviction, as long as the state
you were charged in is a part of the Interstate Driver’s License
Compact. The only states who are not members of this compact include Tennessee,
Wisconsin, Massachusetts, Georgia, and Michigan.
Call Our Experienced Houston DWI Defense Lawyers
Having spent over 15 years defending the rights of the accused throughout Houston,
Attorney Martinez is a top-rated legal advocate. He has been rated as a Cleints’ Choice
DUI Lawyer on Avvo for 2012 and was named a
Top DWI Lawyer by Houston Texas Magazine for 2011. Attorney Martinez has a 10.0 Rating
on Avvo, which is the highest possible score he can receive from his peers
for his exemplary work in the legal community.
If you want to leave your felony DWI charges in the hands of an attorney
who truly knows how to best protect your rights, call The Martinez Law
Firm for a