Charges of Aggravated Assault in Houston, Texas

According to Texas law, you can be charged with aggravated assault if you knowingly or recklessly assault another person, with an additional aggravating factor to the case. Such factors could be if you caused serious bodily injury to another person, or assaulted someone with the use of a deadly weapon – even if the weapon is only displayed and not utilized. Usually, this type of crime is considered a second-degree felony, however, under certain circumstances can be bumped down to a felony of the first degree. Such as if the assault was carried out by someone performing their roles as a public servant.

Crimes of this nature are not taken lightly and carry with them heavy, severe and life-altering consequences. For example, a successful conviction of a first-degree aggravated assault felony, you could face up to 99 days in jail or prison, along with a monetary fine up to $10,000. If the felony is considered second-degree, you could risk anywhere from two to 20 years imprisoned, along with a $10,000 fine. For this reason, it is absolutely imperative that you do not waste any time in getting the assistance of a knowledgeable Houston criminal defense lawyer to help protect your rights.

Why hire a Houston criminal defense lawyer?

At the Martinez Law Firm, we understand the severity of the situation you are facing and are completely dedicated to ensuring that our clients are given the comprehensive, dynamic assistance they need in facing their charges. By working tirelessly to research, prepare and fight for each case, we are often able to assist clients on their way to their desired outcome. Call now and speak with a Houston aggravated assault defense lawyer at the firm!