DWI Charges and License Suspension in Houston, Texas
The 15-Day Rule
If you have been charged with DWI/DUI in Texas, you are subject to the 15-day rule.” This means that, per state law, you have 15 days after your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. If you fail to request the hearing within the 15 days, your license is automatically suspended. The ALR hearing is extremely technical, and it is essential that if you need an ALR hearing that you immediately contact a DWI defense lawyer for knowledgeable legal
counsel. The Martinez Law Firm has over 24 years of experience helping clients request and prepares for ALR hearings to protect their driving privileges.
Pulled over for DWI? The 15-day rule may apply if:
You took a breath, blood or urine test with a result of .08% or greater.
You refused the tests.
You were under 21 at the time and were found to have a BAC of .02% or higher.
You offered to take the test and the police officer is claiming that you refused.
You were driving with a commercial license and allegedly had a BAC of .04% or higher.
Actions to Take Following a Houston DWI Arrest
Just because you were arrested for DWI does not mean you will be convicted. It also does not necessarily mean you will lose your license. Our firm has many years of experience in successfully defending DWI cases in the Houston area. We thoroughly understand DWI defense and the ALR hearing process. Attorney Martinez has been awarded “Top DWI Lawyer” by H Texas Magazine for 2011 and the 2012 Clients’ Choice DUI Lawyer on Avvo. The firm has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and we approach every case with an ethical, aggressive, and dedicated perspective for creating effective defenses strategies.