Texas DWI Process: How to Handle DWI Charges

texas-dwi-process

The Texas DWI process is not always a simple as people assume. After an arrest for a DWI (driving while intoxicated), you appear before a judge at an arraignment. Typically, this is your first court date. 

Generally speaking, when this occurs depends on the circumstances of your case. For some, it happens within a day or so of the arrest. In other cases, it happens weeks or months later. 

For most criminal cases, there’s not much for you to do before an arraignment. This is where the Texas DWI process differs. After a DWI arrest, you have to take quick action to contest an administrative suspension of your license. 

This suspension is imposed by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to contest it, it goes into effect automatically. When you partner with a local DWI lawyer, you have someone to walk you through this process. 

Moreover, you have someone to fight to protect your rights and freedom. 

Below, we cover some basic information about the DWI process in Texas. If you need expert representation, schedule a free consultation as soon as possible. 

What to Do Before Your Arraignment

In Texas, implied consent laws allow the DMV to suspend the license of any driver lawfully arrested for a DWI. Additionally, this applies to drivers who refuse or fail a blood or breath test for their BAC.

Still, you have the power to fight this suspension. However, to do so, you have to request an ALR hearing within 15 days of your arrest. When you request the hearing, it puts the suspension on hold. 

This means the suspension is pending based on the outcome of your hiring. When you fail to request an ALR hearing, the DMV automatically imposes the suspension. Typically, this takes effect about 30 days after your arrest. 

What Happens at Your Arraignment

At your arraignment, the judge informs you of your charges and your rights. However, arraignments are more than a legal formality. If you were sent to jail after your arrest, the judge sets your bail amount or releases you without bail. 

Additionally, the judge will ask what you plan to do about representation. If you do not hire your own DWI lawyer, the judge appoints a public defender to your case. Oftentimes, these public defenders are inexperienced lawyers fresh out of law school. 

Then, the judge asks how you want to plea. Generally, you have three options. 

  1. Guilty
  2. Not guilty 
  3. No contest (nolo contendere)

While some people plead guilty to get the Texas DWI process over with (not the best idea), many enter a plea of not guilty. At this point, a plea of not guilty allows you to keep your options open. 

When you want to protect your future, this is your best option. 

How to Handle a DWI in Texas

After the arraignment, the next stage of the Texas DWI process is to decide how to handle your case. At this stage, the advice of an experienced DWI defense attorney is essential. Often, this boils down to two main options: bargain or fight. 

However, these options aren’t necessarily mutually exclusive. For many cases, criminal lawyers attempt to beat cases through pretrial motions. A common example in the Texas DWI process is a motion to suppress evidence. 

If a motion doesn’t result in your favor, your attorney might also bargain to reduce your charges. Additionally, if the negotiations are unfavorable, your attorney may advise taking the case to trial. 

Ultimately, your DWI attorney’s goal is to achieve the best outcome possible in your specific case. 

Plea Bargaining

Plea bargaining is a process in which your attorney and the prosecution attempt to reach a compromise. Essentially, this amounts to the defendant agreeing to a charge of guilt or no contest in exchange for less severe penalties. 

In some cases, it’s possible to negotiate a guilty plea for a non-DWI charge. For instance, it may result in a reckless driving charge instead. The goal here is to reduce the penalties. 

Typically, weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case provide the defense with a better foundation for bargaining. Conversely, your bargaining power diminishes when the evidence against you is strong. 

How Trials Work

Typically, the prosecution has the burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt in criminal cases. The Texas DWI process is no different. When the prosecutor cannot adequately prove guilt, the judge or jury should acquit. 

Generally speaking, DWI trials last anywhere from a few days to a week. First, the court must select a jury. Often, this takes a full day. 

Then, both sides present their opening statements. This is when they tell the jury what they believe to be true as well as what evidence they will show. 

Next, the meat of the trial is the presentation of evidence. Typically, the prosecution presents its evidence first, since they hold the burden of proof. For example, they might present test results that show the amount of alcohol that was in the driver’s system. 

Additionally, this stage of the Texas DWI process often involves calling on the arresting officer to testify. Once the prosecution rests, your attorney presents their evidence. However, it’s common for the defense not to present any evidence. 

Instead, they might work with an expert witness to gain a favorable testimony that casts doubt on BAC tests. Following the presentation of evidence, both sides make their closing arguments. 

Then, the jury receives instructions on the applicable law and starts its deliberation. For many DWI cases, deliberations take less than a day. As the jurors reach a verdict, they inform the judge, who announces it to the court. 

Tackle The Texas DWI Process with Expert Representation

Whether you hope to bargain or go to trial, your best bet is to have an attorney on your side. With the right legal representation, you gain guidance throughout the legal process. From the ALR hearing to negotiations to trial, you have an advocate dedicated to your future. 

The Texas DWI process often results in harsh penalties for those without representation. As such it is crucial to find legal representation to handle your DWI case. 

DWI with a Child Passenger: What to Know

If you have a charge for a DWI with a child passenger in the vehicle, you need to act fast. With a Houston DWI lawyer, you have an advocate to help you protect your future. Schedule a free consultation today. 

Oftentimes, when we think about driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, we picture someone walking a line in front of an officer. However, the reality is that DWI arrests are often far more complex. 

During the arrest process, law enforcement officers examine a variety of factors. Ultimately, they want to determine what a prosecutor might charge the person with. In some cases, they charge someone for a DWI with a child passenger. This is far worse than your average DWI charge. 

How Does a Minor’s Presence Change the Charge?

When someone drives drunk in a vehicle with a passenger under the age of 15, it constitutes driving while intoxicated with a child passenger. The penalties for this are much more severe than the basic DWI charge. 

Let’s take a look at the potential penalties to see how this changes the penalties. 

First-Time DWI

For a first-time DWI, you receive a class B misdemeanor. Generally, it results in one or more the following penalties. 

  • Fines up to $2,000
  • A jail term of up to 180 days 
  • Both the fine and confinement 
  • DWI education and community service

As you can see, the charges are quite serious already. However, with a child in the vehicle, you face much worse. 

First-Time DWI with a Child Passenger

Even when it’s your first offense, a DWI with a minor passenger is a felony in the state of Texas. As such, it results in the following penalties. 

  • Time in a state jail for anywhere from 180 days to 2 years
  • Fines up to $10,000

It’s easy to see the difference. Moreover, the maximum sentence for a first-time DWI is the minimum sentence when you involve a child. Texas takes drunk driving charges seriously. The penalties are already severe before you involve anyone else. 

Now, some people look at this information and think that they’ve never been drunk behind the wheel with a child in the car. However, it’s important to understand that your definition of “intoxicated” probably doesn’t match the state’s definition. 

DWI Charges and “Intoxication”

Typically, DWI charges stem from two different causes. First, people face DWI charges when their BAC is above 0.08%. However, it’s also possible to face DWI charges when you do not “have the normal use of mental or physical faculties” due to the introduction of alcohol to your system. 

Simply put, that means law enforcement officers have the power to arrest someone for a DWI even when their BAC falls under 0.08%. 

With this broad definition of intoxication, Texas has the power to charge someone for a DWI with a child passenger even when they “feel fine.” If you ever have a couple of drinks and get into a car with a passenger under 15, understand your situation. 

When the state convicts you of this crime, you face at least half a year of jail time – if not more. However, no one is guilty until the court reaches a decision. You need an advocate on your side to protect your rights and your future. 

Experienced Representation from a Houston DWI Defense Attorney

When you face charges for drunk driving for a DWI with a child passenger, you have the right to legal representation. However, it is crucial that you work with an experienced attorney with expertise in DWI cases. 

As a Houston criminal defense law firm, we offer legal representation backed by experience and expertise. To learn more about your legal options, schedule a free case evaluation with our team. Call now!

DWI in a Rental Car in Houston, TX

dwi-in-a-rental-car-houston-tx

When the police charge you with a DWI in a rental car in Houston, it doesn’t matter whether you live here or not. For pleasure and for business, millions of people visit the state of Texas each year. While Texas has much to offer its visitors, our state also has very strict laws around driving while intoxicated (DWI). 

Everyone needs to take drunk driving seriously because it endangers others on the road. Still, visitors to Houston often find themselves in a common scenario. Picture the following. 

You travel and work all day. As your business concludes, you have dinner and drinks with some colleagues. You head back to your hotel in a rental car on roads you don’t know. 

After a long day, you’re tired, and it’s difficult to navigate new roads in the dark. Moreover, perhaps you can’t figure out how to turn off the brights of this rental vehicle. Next thing you know, you see flashing lights behind you. 

You roll to a stop, and an officer asks whether you had anything to drink. Too often, a small mistake turns into a DWI in a rental car during a business trip or on a vacation. However, it’s important to remember that you remain innocent until proven guilty. 

You always have the right to defend yourself against drunk driving allegations. This is true even when your BAC shows above the legal limit. When you understand the consequences of a Texas DWI, you’ll see why it is essential to seek legal counsel as soon as possible. 

What Are the Penalties of a DWI in Texas?

Generally speaking, a first-time DWI in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor. That means you face up to 72 hours in jail as well as fines and a license suspension. Moreover, you face a $3,000 administrative penalty for your first DWI in 36 months. 

This mounts on top of any of the fines a judge imposes. When other factors aggravate the case, these penalties increase. These include intoxication assault, a BAC above .15%, a minor in the vehicle, and more. 

Additionally, you potentially face other penalties, such as alcohol treatment or an order for an interlock device. This device fits your car’s starter, requiring you to blow into it to start your car. If it registers any alcohol, the car does not start. 

DWI in a Rental Car: Impounded Rentals

After an arrest for a DWI in a rental car, the police have to do something with the vehicle. In some cases, they allow you to call someone to pick it up. If you had a legal, sober passenger in the car, the police might also allow them to drive it away. 

However, that’s not always the case, and the police aren’t always that patient. In those cases, it’s a good idea to check FindMyTowedCar.com or call the tow line at 713-308-8580. 

If this happens, call the rental company or ask the police to do so. They can pick up the vehicle from the impound lot. However, prepare yourself for fees and penalties. Moreover, it’s likely that you’ll need to arrange a pickup for any items you left in the car. 

Lastly, you might want to see whether this company will allow you to continue renting vehicles from them in the future. 

Texas Driver’s License

If you are a resident of Texas charged with a DWI in a rental car, the police confiscate your license. When they release you, they provide a paper that serves as a temporary license. This lasts for 40 days. 

After that period, the state suspends your license for up to two years. This duration varies with any prior drunk driving convictions and whether you refused a BAC test. 

To challenge this suspension, you have 15 days from your arrest to request an Administrative License Revocation hearing. Your temporary license lasts until your hearing date. 

However, if you miss this deadline, your license remains suspended until your trial ends in a not guilty verdict. 

DWI in a Rental Car: Your Out-of-State Record

If you live in another state, your Texas DWI in a rental car is likely to follow you home. In collaboration with 44 other states, Texas shares moving violations with other states. Per the Driver License Compact Commission, this includes DWI information and convictions. 

Texas joined this compact in 1993. The purpose is to exchange information regarding traffic violations and license suspensions of non-residents. Moreover, it forwards them to their home state. 

Due to this, residents of many states see their Texas DWI follow them home. Moreover, their home state may apply its own laws to your DWI in a rental car in Houston. Additionally, Texas reports whether you enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. 

That means you face an array of penalties both in Texas and your home state. Unfortunately, this has the potential to result in staggering fines as well as jail time, points against your license, and more. 

In addition to DWIs, Texas reports an array of charges. These include the following, among others. 

  • Failure to stop and provide information 
  • Intoxication manslaughter
  • Failure to stop and render aid 
  • Felony in a motor vehicle 
  • Negligent homicide 
  • Intoxication assault 
  • Vehicular manslaughter

There are five states that are not part of the interstate compact. These are Wisconsin, Tennessee, Georgia, Michigan, and Massachusetts.

Texas does not have the power to suspend an out-of-state license. As such, it is up to your home state whether you face suspension. For instance, while Massassachusetts is not part of the compact, it often treats an out-of-state DWI as though it took place in the state. 

You Have to Face Your Charges in Texas

Regardless of whether you reside in another state, you have to handle your charges for DWI in a rental car in Texas. You have to return for any hearings as well as the trial. 

Failure to appear is always a bad idea. In this case, the Texas judge has the option to issue a default judgment against you. Often, that comes with a warrant for your arrest. 

DWI in a Rental Car: Expert Representation

If you face charges of DWI in a rental car, the stakes are high. This is true regardless of whether you live in Texas. Potentially, you face jail time, a license suspension, fines, and more. 

Moreover, you might face added penalties back home. To handle your charges in Texas, you need the representation of a skilled Houston DWI lawyer. With an experienced DWI defense attorney on your side, you have someone to mount an aggressive, strong defense. 

Backed by experience and expertise in Texas DWI cases, the Martinez Law Firm is here to help you. With extensive experience in the courtroom, Herman Martinez offers unique insight into an array of criminal defense cases. 

For a free consultation and review of your case, contact our firm today. 

Bicycle DWI in Texas: A DWI on a Bike?

bicycle dwi lawyer houston

A bicycle DWI sounds strange, right? You have a fun night with your friends and feel that a bike is a safer way to get home after a few drinks. However, do you face a potential DWI in Houston when you ride your bike? 

According to the state, Texas law says no. The only exception to this rule, is if the bicycle is motorized. Unfortunately, some aggressive prosecutors try to prosecute those who make a smarter decision. When it comes to drunk driving or riding a bike, the choice is clear. 

However, even when you don’t face DWI charges, there’s the potential for other criminal charges. From disorderly conduct to public intoxication, it’s important to protect your future. If you face charges for an alcohol-related crime on a bike, call a Houston DWI lawyer for assistance. 

Bicycle DWI in Texas

In Texas, there’s no specific statute that outlaws bike riding while intoxicated. However, there are prosecutors in the state who point to the general DWI statute of Texas. They argue that it covers bikes as well. 

Ultimately, it depends on how the court interprets the language of the statute. 

DWI Laws in Texas

Per the Texas Penal Code, an individual commits “driving while intoxicated” when they operate a vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. However, it’s important to define several words in that definition. Specifically, it requires an examination of both “intoxication” and “operating a motor vehicle.”

Defining “Intoxication”

Under the Penal Code of Texas, there is a clear definition of intoxication. 

  • The person does not possess the normal use of mental or physical faculties due to the introduction of alcohol. 
  • They have an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher. 

Defining “Motor Vehicle”

Per Section 32.34(a) of the Penal Code, a motor vehicle is the following. 

  • It is a device, in, on, or by which a person is transported or drawn on a highway. This definition excludes a device that uses stationary rails or tracks. 

As you can see, the language is quite vague. While the name “motor vehicle” suggests an engine or motor, the definition does not match this logic. Although there is a clear exception for trains, it’s hard to say whether it includes the potential of a bicycle DWI. 

With this ambiguity, prosecutors have the option to charge people on a bike with a DWI. However, with an experienced Houston DWI defense attorney on your side, you have an advocate to protect your rights. 

In other states, they work to settle these ambiguities. For instance, the statute in Louisiane is also vague. However, the state’s Supreme Court ruled that the statute does not cover bikes in 2000. 

On the other hand, some states clearly prohibit riding a bike while drunk. For example, the DWI statute in Mississippi specifically targets “vehicles,” not “motor vehicles.”

Can You Get a Bicycle DWI in Texas?

With a plain reading of the statute in Texas, there’s no real reason to consider a bicycle a motor vehicle. However, the ambiguous language of the statute allows aggressive prosecutors to charge people with a bicycle DWI. 

Moreover, when you avoid a DWI conviction on a bike, there’s still the potential for other legal charges. This is especially true when you cause an accident with your bike the harms a person or their property. 

Public Intoxication in Houston

When you avoid a bicycle DWI, there’s still the potential of an arrest for public intoxication. Under the Texas Penal Code, the state defines public intoxication as follows. 

  • Intoxication in a public place to a degree that the person might endanger themselves or another 

Unfortunately, this charge is not a stretch when you ride your bike while intoxicated. This is because there’s the clear potential to endanger or harm yourself or another. This does not necessarily require that the prosecutor prove you were a clear threat to yourself or another. Instead, they simply have to show the potential. 

In Texas, public intoxication is a misdemeanor. With it comes a maximum fine of $500. Relatively speaking, this is minor in comparison to a “bicycle DWI.” However, it’s important to remember that you also face the consequences of a criminal conviction. For instance, having a record makes it more difficult for some to secure housing or employment. 

Additionally, it potentially raises your insurance premiums. When you face any alcohol-related charges in Houston, TX, call on a local DWI lawyer to act as your advocate. With the right representation, you have someone to keep your reputation and record clear. 

Civil Liability & Bicycle DWI

When you avoid criminal charges, you might not be totally off the hook for damage. Even without a bicycle DWI, if you damage someone’s property or cause harm to them, they might file a civil lawsuit. 

Moreover, this does not require intoxication. Instead, you are only more likely to face legal charges when you are drunk and cause the damage. Drunk cycling gives some riders a false sense of safety, especially in comparison to the havoc caused by drunk drivers. However, cyclists still have the potential to cause damage. 

When it comes to drunken cycling, the risks are clear. You face diminished awareness and reaction times. Moreover, intoxicated riders simply forget some of the most essential safety precautions. These range from light clothing and signaling for turns to wearing reflectors during a night ride. 

Risks in a Bicycle DWI

Regardless of the legal risk, you pose a danger to yourself when you ride a bicycle after drinking. Cycling is inherently dangerous. Moreover, the heightened risk of head injury has great potential to severely alter your life. 

Other injuries people sustain in a bicycle injury include the following. 

  • Arm and leg fractures 
  • Cuts and bruises 
  • Strains 
  • Sprains 
  • Broken jaws 
  • Cracked teeth 
  • Head and neck injuries 
  • Concussions

When you add alcohol to the mix, you only increase your risk of injury. Alcohol slows your reaction time, which makes it much more difficult for you to react. Whether there are hazards on the road or a vehicle in the area, you have a harder time reacting to new stimuli. 

Moreover, it impacts your ability to make decisions. This causes you to take risks that you might otherwise avoid. Lastly, it affects your attention, which causes you to not notice threats until it’s too late. 

Bicycle DWI & Legal Representation

Do you face a DWI conviction in Houston? If so, a Houston DWI lawyer like Herman Martinez is ready to protect your future. Herman Martinez understands the stress and concern that comes with a DWI arrest. That’s why he dedicates himself to being your advocate throughout the legal process. 

When you want to understand your legal options and build a strong defense, you need an advocate with experience and expertise. With extensive courtroom experience, Martinez fights for the best possible outcome in your case. 

Schedule a free consultation today to learn more about your options. 

DWI Probation in Texas: What You Need to Know

dwi-probation-texas-houston-dwi-lawyer (1)

DWI probation is a great alternative to a first-time conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI). However, it does not mean you are fully off the hook. In Texas, the requirements of probation after a DWI are quite onerous. 

Moreover, if you violate your probation, it likely results in jail time. Let’s take a look at this probation so that you know what to expect. 

What Is the Law around DWI Probation in Texas?

For a DWI charge, probation falls under Chapter 42A of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. In this chapter, the law describes probation as “community supervision.” Moreover, it allows for probated DWI sentences. 

This places convicted individuals under community supervision. As such, it allows people to avoid jail time. Unfortunately, some circumstances still require a minimum jail time. 

Minimum Jail Sentences and Probation

For a first-time DWI, it’s possible for an entire sentence to be probated. This means you serve no jail time and instead serve probation. However, if you have a prior DWI offense on your record more than 5 years prior, you have to serve a minimum of 72 continuous hours in jail. This is true even when the judge grants you probation. 

That means 3 full days in jail. For example, there’s no way to report in at 8 pm and leave by 12:01 am after 16 hours. 

Additionally, if you have a second or subsequent offense related to drunk driving in fewer than 5 years, you have to serve a minimum of 5 days in jail. 

For a third offense or more, it requires no less than 10 days – and not less than 30 days for intoxication assault. Moreover, intoxication manslaughter requires a minimum term of 120 days as a condition of probation.  

What Are the Conditions of DWI Probation?

For DWI probation in Texas, the law sets requirements for community supervision. When a judge has good cause, they may waive some requirements. However, others are mandatory. 

Additionally, judges have many conditions to apply as they see fit. As such, every case is different and has the potential for different results. 

Here are some of the most common conditions of probation for a DWI. 

  • Three 4-hours DWI classes to be completed within 6 months 
  • Drug or alcohol dependence evaluation
  • Fines and court fees (often around $1000) 
  • Mothers Against Drunk Driving (M.A.D.D.) Victim Impact Panel
  • No drinking or drug use 
  • Community service (anywhere from 24 to 100 hours) 
  • Random drug testing 
  • No other offenses during the probation period 
  • Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle (comes with a note on your license stating you can only operate vehicles with this device)
  • Monthly meetings with your probation officer 
  • Remain gainfully employed and continue to support your dependents
  • Submit to home and work inspections from your probation officer
  • Avoid harmful behavior and individuals with “immoral” character
  • Notify the court when you change address or employers
  • Receive permission from the court before you leave the country

DWI Probation Violations

When someone accuses you of a probation violation, you have the right to a hearing in front of a judge. In this case, the state has to prove the violation of your probation. Moreover, it requires a preponderance of evidence, which means the burden of proof is on them. 

If you violated your DWI probation, whether purposefully or unintentionally, it is essential to work with a Houston DWI lawyer. When you act quickly, you have more options available. 

When the state revokes your probation, they sentence you to confinement. Unfortunately, the mandatory jail sentence imposed as a condition of probation does not count toward this term. 

Oftentimes, a probation violation in a DWI case stems from a “dirty blow” on an interlock device. However, it’s important to have a DWI defense attorney review your probation terms to see the precise conditions of your case. 

Early Release from DWI Probation

Under Chapter 42A Section 701, a judge has the authority to grant early release from probation. However, this does not apply to DWI convictions. Unfortunately, that means that early release is not a possibility with DWI probation in Texas. 

Still, some counties allow probationers to go into a “non-reporting” status. Typically, this requires the successful completion of certain probation terms. Moreover, this often allows people to have an interlock device removed. 

When the court orders an interlock device for DWI probation, the law requires installation for at least 50% of the period. The opportunity for removal exists on a case-by-case basis. Moreover, it varies with the judge overseeing your case as well as the county. 

DWI Probation & Houston DWI Lawyers

If you face drunk driving charges or an accusation of probation violation, call an attorney for legal assistance. The sooner you work with a lawyer, the more options you have. 

In Texas, it’s important to remember that no judge has the legal authority to end community supervision early. However, your attorney will help you explore your options. When possible, they can help you explore the potential for a non-reporting status. 

With decades of experience working in Houston and Harris County, Herman Martinez has the experience and expertise to help you determine the best possible outcome for your case. To learn more about your specific case, schedule a free consultation today. 

Why You Should Avoid DWI in Houston

avoid-dwi-in-houston-dwi-lawyer

Why should you avoid DWI in Houston? There are plenty of reasons not to drink and drive. Drunk driving puts every aspect of your life at risk, from your freedom to your personal relationships. 

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges leave you vulnerable to legal, financial, and even health consequences. Still, those are just a few of the ways that a DWI changes your life. 

There are plenty of reasons to avoid drinking and driving. Let’s explore just a few of them. 

Criminal Charges

In Texas, the state takes drunk driving charges very seriously. As such, the consequences are quite severe. 

  • Fines. When the court convicts you of a DWI, you face fines ranging from $500 to $2,000. Oftentimes, states also take other factors into consideration that increase these fines. 
  • Imprisonment. A DWI is a misdemeanor in Texas. This means offenders face anywhere from 6 months to a year of jail time. In some states, there’s even a minimum sentence for a first-time DWI. When drunk driving causes an accident, it increases the amount of jail time you face. 
  • License Suspension. A DWI comes with the potential to lose your license. These last anywhere from 6 months to three years. When the state revokes a license, there’s no option to restore it. 
  • Other Consequences. Offenders also face community service, seminars, and rehabilitation. Often, first-time offenders receive alternative sentencing like this. Moreover, some judges combine these with other consequences. 

When you don’t avoid DWI in Houston, you need the help of a Houston DWI lawyer. The consequences of a conviction stretch out into other aspects of your life. For instance, the charges have the potential to impact your work and the life of your family. 

If you lose your license, it also makes your life more challenging as you require expensive rideshare or public transportation to get around. With decades of experience, our DWI defense firm knows how to pursue the best possible outcome of your case. 

When you need representation, contact a DWI defense lawyer Houston trusts. 

Making the Roads More Dangerous for Yourself and Others

Even a single alcoholic drink has an impact on your perception and response time behind the wheel. When you want to avoid DWI in Houston, it’s best to have a designated driver or avoid drinking for the night. In doing so, you keep everyone in your vehicle safe. 

Moreover, you set a better example for passengers, especially with children around. If you drink and don’t have a ride, it’s better to use a rideshare service or call a cab. No matter what, your best option is to avoid putting yourself and others at risk.

Reasons to avoid DWI in Houston: Unnecessary Risks 

Oftentimes, drivers underestimate the risk of drunk driving. Additionally, they tend to overestimate their capabilities. Over the years, you’ve probably met someone who claims to drive better when they’re drunk. 

That simply isn’t true. When you drive while intoxicated, the alcohol has a direct impact on your ability. While the impact varies from person to person, there are a few common examples we all know about intoxication.

  • Poor Judgment. Even a small level of alcohol impacts your decision-making abilities. Moreover, it tends to encourage impulsive behavior that is dangerous behind the wheel. 
  • Reduced Response Time. When you avoid DWI in Houston, you avoid an impact to your hand-eye coordination that makes it harder for you to process a situation and respond to it. 
  • Visual Issues. Alcohol has the potential to alter your perception. This makes it more difficult to monitor your blind spots and spot hazards on the road. 

While you may feel that you can drive safely while drunk, it doesn’t mean the alcohol has no effect on you. Avoid unnecessary risk and stay off the road. 

Personal Consequences

Drunk driving puts you at risk. However, it also puts everyone else at risk as well. When you cause an accident, you could cause serious harm to yourself and others. 

Moreover, drunk driving accidents tend to result in significant medical expenses as well as long-term rehabilitation for injuries. 

When you avoid DWI in Houston, you avoid the following. 

  • Employment Issues. With a DWI on your criminal record, you hurt your chances of finding a new job. If you have a job, you even put yourself at risk of losing it. Too often, presence in court requires people to miss work, which reflects poorly on them. 
  • Financial Issues. After a DWI accident, insurance providers might deny claims. Additionally, it often makes you liable for the damage you cause to other drivers. Typically, this results in severe legal and financial consequences. 
  • Health Issues. Alcohol leads to short-term intoxication, of course. However, it also has the potential to lead to long-term health problems, such as liver disease or kidney disease. Moreover, dependence can cause depression or anxiety. 

If You Don’t Avoid DWI in Houston, You Need a Houston DWI Lawyer

There’s never a good reason to risk the consequences of a DWI in Houston. Even when you avoid accidents, an arrest has dire consequences. From your career prospects to your personal relationships, a DWI conviction changes your life. 

If you face DWI charges, you need a Houston DWI defense lawyer to help you explore your options. At The Martinez Law Firm, we have decades of experience helping Houstonians protect their futures. With our legal team, you have advocates who always work to attain the best results possible in your case. 

When you face a DWI charge, it’s important to act fast. Schedule a free consultation with our team. Call us today!