How to Reduce Houston DWI Charges
Houston DWI Fines: How to Reduce DWI Charges
In Houston, DWI fines are nothing to scoff at when charged with this crime. Texas takes driving while intoxicated (DWI), or drunk driving, charges quite seriously. From maximum fines in the thousands to jail time and interlock devices, the penalties for a DWI can be quite severe. Moreover, these penalties change based on certain factors.
Nevertheless, a Houston DWI lawyer like Herman Martinez can fight to reduce your charges or potentially even get them dismissed. When you face DWI charges, it is crucial to call on a DWI defense attorney to discuss the unique details of your case. A DWI conviction has severe financial and personal consequences, even for first-time offenders.
What Are the Penalties for a DWI?
In Texas, you are legally intoxicated when you lose the normal use of your mental or physical faculties or your blood/breath alcohol concentration or BAC reaches 0.08%. A BAC at .15% or over raises the penalties to the same as a second offender, even if it is your first offense.
- Up to a $2,000 fine
- Up to 180 days in jail upon conviction
- The potential loss of driver’s license up to 1 year
- Up to a $4,000 fine
- Up to 30 days to a year in jail
- Loss of driver’s license for up to 2 years.
- A $10,000 fine.
- 2 – 10 years in prison
- Loss of driver’s license up to 2 years
DWI Charges with a Child Passenger
An example of the variables that significantly change your case, having a child passenger as you drive drunk drastically increases the penalties of your DWI.
- Charges of child endangerment when you drive drunk with children under the age of 15
- Fines up to $10,000
- Up to 2 years in jail
- Potential loss of driver’s license for up to 180 days
Can I Reduce Houston DWI Fines?
While many other states have anti-plea-bargaining laws in place for DWI offenses, Texas allows prosecutors to offer reduced charges in certain cases. Your Houston DWI defense attorney fights to negotiate with prosecutors to lower your DWI charges.
When your lawyer has your charges reduced, it means the charge lowers in severity to that of a lower crime. Oftentimes, this leads to more leniency with fines, jail time, and other restrictions resulting from the case.
What Are Some Examples of Reduced DWI Charges?
- Having the DWI case dismissed
- A “No Bill” return at your indictment hearing, which means the state drops the case
- Felony DWI reduced to a misdemeanor
- Removing illegally obtained BAC evidence through pre-trial motions
- Negotiating a plea bargain for a lesser charge
These are just certain examples of how to avoid Houston DWI fines through reduced charges. When you hope to pursue avenues such as these, it is crucial that you hire an experienced Houston DWI lawyer to act as your advocate in Court.
When you face DWI charges in Harris County, call on the DWI defense team at The Martinez Law Firm. With decades of experience as a former Judge and Chief Prosecutor, we know the system to advocate for your best results. Contact us today to schedule a free case consultation.